PTSD and Grief Disorders: Symptoms and Stages

A mental illness may lead to depression and create issues in your everyday life, such as school, work, or relationships. Many people may have mental health issues from time to time. When ongoing symptoms and emotions create regular stress and limit your capacity to operate, a mental health condition becomes a mental disease.

This article will discuss two mental conditions, their symptoms, and their stages.

What is PTSD

PTSD stands for Post-traumatic stress disorder, a mental condition that can develop in some people after experiencing shocking, terrifying, or dangerous events. Fear is a common emotion during and after a traumatic experience. Fear causes the body to undergo many distinct changes that help defend against or avoid the threat.

Symptoms of PTSD

The symptoms of PTSD in women don’t differ significantly from the signs of PTSD in men. Women are more prone than men to develop PTSD with a lifetime incidence of 1 in 10, while it occurs in 1 in 25 men. “The symptoms of PTSD are categorized into five events.

1.    Any Threatening Life Event

An incident that is believed to be life-threatening. Whether or not it’s true, what matters most is the person’s perception.

2.    Inner Thoughts of a Terrible Incident

They may be more than just thoughts; they are undesired, where the individual repeatedly experiences the same life-threatening situations.

3.    Variations in the Anxiety State

Constant stress and alert for danger (hyper-vigilance), react with extreme shock, frequently look over their shoulder, or seem nervous. It is a psychological symptom of PTSD and the body’s sensitivity to high stress and the desire to be aware of possible dangers.

4.    Emotions or Thought Swings

They may see the world as extremely dangerous, worry about shielding themselves from it, find it difficult to go out in public, feel Isolation that can lead to sadness, and behave in ways they later regret.

5.    Ignoring Outer Threats

They avoid recalling their terrible experience and ignore the emotions connected to them. If someone attacked them, they might avoid them, or if they were involved in a car accident, they might stop driving.

How does PTSD affect a person?

People with PTSD experience strong, uncomfortable feelings and thoughts about their suffering. They may face this even Long after the horrible event has passed. Memories or dreams may cause them to repeat the situation. They may experience sadness, fear, or anger and feel distant or separated from other people.

What is Grief

Grief is a deep, sometimes intense sense for people, depending on whether someone’s sadness is triggered by losing a beloved one or getting any terminal disease. Physical discomfort, anxiety issues, confusion, craving, excessive thinking about the past, and worry about the future are all common symptoms of grief.

7 Stages of Grief

There is no correct or incorrect way to grief; the process is highly subjective. However, there are general stages of grief.

1.    Shock

Feelings of shock are natural in almost every situation, even if we believe we have had time to prepare for the death of a loved one. People in shock frequently seem to be behaving normally without a lot of emotion since the news hasn’t set in yet.

2.    Denial

After a loss, many individuals suffer denial: they know something occurred, but it doesn’t seem genuine. The denial is more of a feeling of ‘But how can they not be here?’ than a denial that I didn’t believe.

3.    Anger

Anger is a hard feeling to handle and might be exaggerated by others, but it’s important to find a person to whom we can relate in an informed way.

4.    Bargaining

The bargaining step is how you ask God for a second chance to make things right and make promises to yourself or God. A person who has just lost a loved one may seek justification, feel bad about their actions, or accept some form of responsibility for several reasons.

5.    Depression

The mix of emotions that frequently accompany the grief process may lead to feelings of depression, loneliness, worry, and dread.

6.    Acceptance and Hope

Acceptance is the realization that you cannot change the situation, but you can have some control over how you respond to them.

7.    Processing Grief

Grieving is a much-individualized process. There is no immediate treatment; the recovery process requires time and differs from person to person. There is no “standard” period. Not everyone moves through these processes in this exact order and it is completely normal for each individual to experience these stages differently.

Trauma Regarding Remembrance Day

The date of June 27 is picked to be the official PTSD Awareness Day, which is now celebrated annually. Staff American soldier Sgt. Joe Biel died in 2007 as a consequence of PTSD. After returning from his duty, he committed suicide. Biel was born on June 27, designated as a day to remember and spread awareness of PTSD and other mental disorders.

Final Thoughts

PTSD and Grief are often the results of exposure to a traumatic event that is usually outside the scope of everyday experiences. It could also be a horrific death, domestic violence or childhood abuse, a medical event or hospitalization, an attack or conflict, a natural disaster, or an act of terrorism. When we witness a traumatic event, it is natural for us to experience various emotions and symptoms.